Lewandowski, Ronaldo Shortlisted for FIFA Men’s Player award

Lewandowski, Ronaldo Shortlisted for FIFA Men’s Player award

Sharing is caring!

Robert Lewandowski is in contention to retain his FIFA Men’s Player of the Year title after being nominated to an 11-man shortlist with Karim Benzema and Jorginho on Monday.

Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo are among the perennial contenders, while Neymar, Mohamed Salah, and Kylian Mbappe are also competing for the honor, which was established in 2017.

The list of probable winners is completed by Erling Haaland, N’Golo Kante, and Kevin De Bruyne.

Alexia Putellas, Jennifer Hermoso, Aitana Bonmati, and Caroline Graham Hansen are among the Barcelona players on the women’s best player shortlist.

Sam Kerr, Ji So-yun, Magdalena Eriksson, and Pernille Harder all represent Chelsea, who were defeated by Barcelona in last season’s Women’s Champions League final.

Lucy Bronze, the winner of the prize last year, was nominated alongside England international Ellen White.

Christine Sinclair of Canada, as well as Stina Blackstenius of Sweden, are also in contention.

After guiding Chelsea to the Champions League triumph, Thomas Tuchel is a candidate for best men’s coach. He will square up against Roberto Mancini, the architect of Italy’s Euro 2020 win.

Hansi Flick, Pep Guardiola, Antonio Conte, Diego Simeone, and Argentina coach Lionel Scaloni are the other candidates.

The greatest men’s and women’s player, coach, and goalie are chosen by captains and coaches of all national teams worldwide, as well as an online poll of fans and a select group of journalists.

Voting will take place between November 22 and December 10.

The three finalists in each category will be announced in early January, with the awards ceremony taking place virtually on January 17 from FIFA’s headquarters in Zurich.


On November 29, Paris will host a separate Ballon d’Or award ceremony.

Sharing is caring!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: