Huge Setback For the Boks As Injured Am and Pollard Released From Camp

Huge Setback For the Boks As Injured Am and Pollard were Released From Camp
Springboks player Lukhanyo Am during the Round 6 Rugby Championship match between South Africa Springboks and New Zealand All Blacks at CBus Stadiumon the Gold Coast, Saturday, October 2, 2021. (AAP Image/Dave Hunt) NO ARCHIVING, EDITORIAL USE ONLY ** STRICTLY EDITORIAL USE ONLY, NO COMMERCIAL USE, NO BOOKS **

After Lukhanyo Am and Handre Pollard were ruled out with injuries, the Springboks will continue their Rugby Championship campaign without their service.

Am and Pollard (knee injuries) are among four players, including Elton Jantjies (hand) and Pieter-Steph du Toit (knee), who was out from this weekend’s Wallabies rematch in Sydney.

On Wednesday, Bok management announced that its prominent outside centre and flyhalf would be returned to their clubs for additional medical examinations, while Jantjies and Du Toit would stay with the squad since they are anticipated to recuperate adequately for the team’s last two matches.

Am will return to the Sharks, while Pollard will be evaluated by the medical staff of the Leicester Tigers.

Jacques Nienaber, coach of the Springboks, said that no replacements will be called up at this time since the team already has adequate depth. However, they will ask for reinforcements if necessary.

“We will now have 32 players in camp and with Elton expected to recover for the matches against Argentina and players such as Andre (Esterhuizen) and Jesse (Kriel) and Frans (Steyn) all being capable centres, we are well covered,” said Nienaber.

“Our plan from the outset of the season was to give most of the players in our expanded squad game time as we build towards the Rugby World Cup, and this involved rotating a few players, so we’ll use this opportunity to build our depth.”

Springbok team:

15 Willie le Roux, 14 Canan Moodie, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Makazole Mapimpi, 10 Damian Willemse, 9 Jaden Hendrikse, 8 Jasper Wiese, 7 Franco Mostert, 6 Siya Kolisi (captain), 5 Lood de Jager, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Malcolm Marx, 1 Steven Kitshoff

Substitutes: 16 Deon Fourie, 17 Ox Nche, 18 Trevor Nyakane, 19 Kwagga Smith, 20 Duane Vermeulen, 21 Cobus Reinach, 22 Frans Steyn, 23 Warrick Gelant

The test on Saturday in Sydney begins at 11:35. (SA time).

%d bloggers like this: